Dr. Ayanna Perry Interview

Ayanna Perry

  1. When did you fall in love with STEM?

I don’t know if I every fell in love with STEM. Math however was a love hate relationship. I loved the way I felt smart after writing a proof or figuring our multiple ways to solve a problem and I didn’t get that feeling with English or History or Science. There was something about figuring things out that appealed to me. I realized that I was good at it my freshman year in College when I was the only freshman in the Cal I class on campus. That was when I fell in love.

  1. What is your current title?

I am a Program Officer for Teacher Development at the Knowles Science Teaching Foundation.  I have a PhD in Math Education.

  1. What area of STEM do you most identify?

Math

  1. How do you define STEM (thinking about the inclusion/exclusion of psychology, social sciences, etc)

STEM included the study of science, technology, engineering, and Math; the interaction between any pair or triad represented there, the study of how to teach the different or collective content there and the application of these ideas to real world problem.

  1. Why do you think STEM is important?

I could be cliché and say that STEM is important for teaching students and people in general how to think or problem solve, but that is not true. People think critically, reason, and problem solve all of the time outside of these sciences. What STEM allows if for innovation and structure in architecture, technology, medicine, etc. STEM is the way that discovery is done, tested, and made commonplace.

  1. How did your experience as an African-American woman impact your work in STEM?

As a first generation African American woman in STEM, I had to work hard. I had to perform on level of above other to be recognized. I have to be confident and I felt it my duty to illuminate and support others of color in the STEM fields. I conducted research on equity as a member of a marginalized group because though very important research has been done in this area, there is a scarcity of voices of color in this work.

  1. Can you tell me about any challenges you had to face due to your social identity in STEM?

I was told early on not to research equity and diversity issues because I would be labeled as an equity researcher and that can be limiting as an African American woman.

Was this something you reported or considered reporting to authority figures?

This can from an authority figure at the time. I also think it came from a good place though it can be seen as a micro-aggression. I spoke to another professor who suggested I study what I was interested in and develop a research program large but focused enough to encompass all the things I was interested in studying.

  1. Do you have any advice for current underrepresented students who are STEM majors?

Believe in your skill. You are where you are because you are qualified. Work hard. Learn how to study. Develop and take your own tests, quizzes, and exams before they are given in class. A poor grade is never the fault of the professor if your work wasn’t up to par. It is your job to learn the material. Push and challenge yourself. Pay attention to your reputation. Prejudice is omnipresent and can impact your opportunities if you play into them at all. There is a lot that needs to change about society and some people are able to change things from the outside, but if you want to change things from the inside, you need to follow the rules until your footing is solid enough to stand on your own.

  1. Was there ever a time that you felt you were overtly discouraged/encouraged by someone to pursue STEM?

My father told me early on that he wanted me to be a biostatistician. He set up a visit with one at UNC. He exposed me to other STEM professionals and encouraged be to participate in research experiences during school over working summer jobs. By the time I finished college, I knew I wanted to pursue math and his support helped me easily make that decision. He also pushed me to earn my PhD from the time I was in high school. I have it now because I wanted it but his constant encouragement and expectation of excellence made the road easier to travel. He often talked about he Story of the Ditch Digger’s daughters and how his own daughters would be just as successful. Now all of us, three girls. Are in STEM. One is a Scientist and works in Pharma, another is a computer scientist and works in securities for the military and I am a mathematician who supports science and math teachers across the US.

  1. Is having a network within your field important to you? Why/why not?

Yes, At times, I am the only PhD of color in my setting and having a network of likeminded or similarly marginalized people to talk with support me. This type of mentorship also allows me to refuel when the work gets hard.

  1. If you could tell girls and people of color one thing about STEM education, what would it be?

It is for everyone. We all need to be represented and involved because we make it better, we push it father, it will be more amazing because all of our voices, perspectives, and ideas will be heard.

  1. Some people have introduced a new concept called ‘STEAM’ which allows a place for art in STEM, and they argue, increases innovation. Do you think the Arts have a place in STEM? Would you lobby for a push toward STEAM?

I think there is a space for it, but I am not familiar with it beyond hearing it. I am not sure how it will be used to support the study of traditional sciences. I think I am cautious about STEM being diluted to include too much, but recognize that models and the like are necessary especially min mathematics and much of the tessellations, and models of math equations are artistic. So maybe it’s inclusion will allow those preciously regarded as not scientifically smart to fully participate in this work.

On second thought, this idea of interrupting traditional STEM is the same rhetoric used to keep women and people of color out of STEM. There are may areas where non-traditional mathematicians (pool players, plumbers, roofers, gardeners) have shown that the ways they understand math are useful. So much so that now mental math is a part of the Common Core, so I say include art. Maybe we will learn how what artists do well can bolster what we understand about math, science, technology and engineering.

Leave a comment